What is a Mother to do? I want to honour her birthday wish, but how to do it without breaking my bank account??

 

Thank you to Stephanie for sharing her struggles in purchasing Lego for her daughter.  She has shared her story with us and allowed us to share it with you on our blog.

“My daughter informed me recently that for her birthday she wants Elsa’s Sparkling Ice Castle for her 6th Birthday – thank you television advertising.

After a celebratory hug and kiss (she’s made my job so easy to shop for her this year), I jump online and hope to be done the purchase in 20 minutes or less!

A quick internet search reveals that she is actually asking for the Lego set numbered 41062.  After a quick look over, it looks like a cute little block play set that we will have a ton of fun to put together . I’m not sure who enjoys building Lego more, the adult or child!

I head over to shop.lego.com (our Lego site here in Canada) and I have hit my first road block.  Although it is there, the price is a little more that I was hoping to spend, but even worse, the castle is sold out!

My screen shot of the Lego Store:

lego-castle
Very nice castle, a little pricey, but SOLD OUT, you have to be kidding me!

A bit of reading on a couple of parenting forums has informed me that “sold out” are common words for any store that is selling Lego sets like these ones.  However, not to be one to disappoint my little “angel”, these virtual groups have also advised me to hit up Amazon.ca and Ebay to purchase one.   Again, I’m on my way to make my daughter’s dreams come true (I just might not be able to keep to my 20 minute deadline).

Ebay.ca here I come.  I type in Lego 41062 and I almost spit my coffee all over my keyboard when I start to see the numbers where the prices should be.  I thought $49.99 was a bit steep, but over $20 more than the Lego Store?  Since I know the prices on Ebay can be inflated and people can ask whatever they want but it doesn’t mean they will get it, I checked out the sold only feature on the search menu to see what other parents are purchasing this set for, and I couldn’t believe my eyes!

ebay-castle

These were ones that were just sold!  Now, I’m not an expert when it comes to economy, but I do know that these prices are what drive the Lego market so anyone who is selling these sets will price them at this price or above.  I also know when the Lego store sells out of stock, these prices start to go even higher!

Okay, so Ebay is out, let’s hope I have better luck at Amazon.ca!

Well, it looks like the consensus is in.  I’m going to have a very disappointed daughter on my hands 😦  Amazon prices are no better than anywhere else.

amazon-castle

So as I trudge up to my daughter’s bedroom to ask her what else she wants for her birthday (and figure out how to tell her mommy just can’t afford Elsa’s Sparkling Ice Castle Set), I say a silent prayer to anyone who is listening to send a miracle shipment of Frozen to the Lego Store in time for my baby’s 6th birthday.

I’ll let you know what she decides her second wish will be.”

Written by Stephanie H.

If you would like to have one of your stories featured on our blog, don’t hesitate to contact us.  We’d love to hear from you!14716096_365115113834547_5255444652540063073_n

Leave a Reply

